Obsession

Obsession ….. what does one associate this word with at first glance?  A fragrance or a busy mind …… Google obviously thinks it’s the former so I had to rephrase the word with its adjective. 
Why am I obsessing over an obsession?  Probably being a Virgo, I have this habit of taking something apart to find out the ‘how’, ‘what’ and ‘why’.  It’s akin to walking out of my head to look at something but as a 2nd person with a different perspective.  Lately I had found myself thinking about something so much that it was making my heart ache.  Me thinks ‘Hey, that’s not good.’ …… conjures up my mental twin who tells me ‘Stop it, take a break and go do something else.’  Great advice as it worked and mood much improved.  
As an article I came across describes, obsession or addictive thinking is unconcious thinking.  Most likely at some time or other most of us have had an obsession of varying proportion ….. either we get over it or it drives us crazy.   Rather scary when it gets beyond one’s control and makes us do horror stuff such as leaving someone’s pet rabbit on the stove (scene from Fatal Attraction). 
Hope none of us would go to that extent and let an obsession take control of one’s sanity.   Advice to myself ……. to switch to concious thinking mode and let my mental twin keep me grounded.  
Related article http://www.find-happiness.com/addictive-thinking.html
 
This entry was posted in Thinking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment