Alternative Blog


http://juleecwk.wordpress.com/

Though I have yet to decide to migrate my blog to another site, I have been looking around for some alternatives.  I do love Spaces which I have been with since December 2007, love its pleasing format and module choices, large drafting page with easy editing and picture albums.  Spaces is like a personal friend with whom I have shared many thoughts.  Why then did those on Windows Live mess it up and started removing useful features which are important to us?  They don’t even seem to listen to feedback and apart from a vague reply to the many unhappy comments, they have largely remained silent.  And that’s not good. 
I had been looking at Blogger and WordPress and decided to start an alternative blog with the latter.  Not so much on new entries but as an avenue to back up my previous entries which are worth keeping.  It would be too tedious to transfer every single entry so for a start, I’m just duplicating all my previous and current postings on YSH to my WordPress blog.  Only half done and might not be transferring all other entries. 
Perhaps when I’m done transferring my YSH entries, I might then start on the other categories.  I’m not sure whether I’ll totally migrate to the other site later …….. will see how things develop at Spaces.  I’m still not used to the different format at WordPress and find its small draft page a bit difficult to write on.  Have to keep checking the preview to see how my entries with pictures are finally arranged.  Some of my posted entries went a bit haywire with the pictures shifted out of position and the captions displaced when I last checked.  Had to go in and re-edit ….. still need some time to get the hang of it. 
To replace the missing Stats feature on Spaces, I’ve installed my own stats counter on the main page.  Have also added in the former stats total count for more accuracy.  And yet, it’s just not the same …… we want our old Stats back.  Dear Windows Live team, are you listening?
This entry was posted in Hobbies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Alternative Blog

  1. Diane says:

    I\’ve had my blog at Blogger since January 2008 and have been happy with it. Have tried others, but I decided to stick with Blogger. I find it easier to work with.

  2. Julee says:

    I did try Blogger but like the more detailed stats function provided by Worpress which has some limitations though. Unfortunately doesn\’t have photo albums and doesn\’t support some media file types, unless you go for a paid upgrade. But am just trying it out.

Leave a comment